How to Notify Facebook After a Death

What happens to someone's Facebook account when they pass away? With the closure of a Facebook account, the deceased's account can be removed or memorialized.

A memorialized account will have the word "Remembering" in front of the person's name. Content the person shared (example: photos, posts) stays on Facebook and is visible on Facebook to the audience it was shared with. Memorialized profiles don't appear in public spaces such as in suggestions for 'People You May Know', ads or birthday reminders. 

Facebook will require documentation that proves you are an immediate family member. Below are the steps to take to deactivate the Facebook account.

1. Scan or take a photo of the Proof of Death (e.g. statement of death, death certificate).

If the Proof of Death is not available, please provide one of the following documents to demonstrate proof of authority:

  • Power of attorney
  • Birth certificate
  • Will
  • Estate letter

Provide one of the following to show that your family member has passed away:

  • Obituary
  • Memorial Card

2. Submit the request and documentation to Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *